Lent journey: Jesus meets mother

Meditation

Imagine meeting your mother at the peak of your suffering. It can be hard for the both of you: for the mother seeing the son in pain and vice versa. The mother must have felt a sword pierce through her own soul as the scripture describes. It is hopeless to see your child in pain and yet not be in a position to help. Once again we learn how to let God’s will in our lives prevail. Her fidelity to God the father’s will is a challenge to us. That she carried Jesus in her womb for nine months and brought fourth the light of the world, we should always let, pray and accept the father’s will in our lives no matter how uncomfortable it may make us feel or unrealistic it may be.

33402713796_345d6bb61e

 

Reflection

Have you ever had a ‘helpless’ moment even for a minute? A moment where you did not know how to react or what to do. I have. I have watched my daughter convulse: be unconscious, roll eyes to the back of her head and foam on the mouth. I have watched my son gasp for breath after taking some good amount of kerosene. From a mother’s point of view, there’s nothing as difficult as watching your child suffering, more so clinging to dear life. I did not know what to do then in these two different cases that happened at different times. For my daughter, I remember just standing there transfixed like I lost all my senses. For my son, I was too scared I had to call someone come help him because I could not stand and just watch my son slip through my fingers. Thank God they are all fine right now. Should these happen again (God forbid) I would rather transform and be someone else if I cannot help my child. Call it escapism if you like but it’s deeper than that. I just cannot find the right words to describe the feelings. As I empathize with mother Mary for the feeling she bore at the sight of her suffering son, I thank God for the hundredth time that at least for me given those ‘helpless’ moments I had the chance to pull whichever strings I could to save them. If you were Mary how would you feel to let your son continue in suffering and the best you could do then is cry?

Fact

Luke 2: 34-35 (NIV)

34 Then Simeon blessed them and said to Mary, his mother: “This child is destined to cause the falling and rising of many in Israel, and to be a sign that will be spoken against, 35 so that the thoughts of many hearts will be revealed. And a sword will pierce your own soul too.

Resolve

Lord Jesus, it is difficult to imagine myself walking in your mother’s shoes. It is even more painful to imagine meeting my son beaten, tired, hungry, thirsty, bloody and the best I can do is cry. Even through this I learn that accepting God’s will in my life is very important to him. Help me to know your will for me through praying every time and accept it even if it is too harsh or crude to bear joyously knowing you have my best interests at heart. Amen

photo credit: campra <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/96453841@N00/33402713796″>Noli!</a&gt; via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/2.0/”>(license)</a&gt;

Leave a Reply

